Podcast + Evaluation

You can listen to my completed podcast here.

Evaluation

My original idea for my podcast was to have a discussion about Riccardo Tisci’s first Burberry collection, however I realised that it was not going to be possible as I didn’t have anyone who had an extended knowledge of the fashion industry and would be able to have an in-depth conversation with me about the collection.

I changed my idea to a discussion about fashion in general, and brainstormed some possible questions I could ask. For example:

  • What is your fashion faux pas?
  • If you could raid any celebrities wardrobe, who would it be and why?

Once I had brainstormed enough questions I started to plan the questions more carefully until I had 10 questions. I then wrote a podcast outro and intro.

I originally set out to record my podcast with Ellie and Liz, on a day when Leigh was absent. Then after about half an hour of struggling through questions, I decided to call it quits and re-record it when Leigh was present, as I know that she had a vaster knowledge of fashion, and an ability to discuss it in-depth.

We recorded my podcast the following week, and although it took longer than I anticipated due to many instances of messed up words, I got enough content to make a decent podcast.

The following week set out to edit my podcast, and discovered that there was some feedback on a few of the audio clips that left them unusable. This included my outro.

I managed to salvage enough of my recordings to edit a podcast that sounded similar to fashion discussion podcasts such as Fashion Unzipped and Fashion No Filter, once I had cleaned up the sound quality I went online and found some royalty-free music that I could use at the start and end.

I am quite pleased with the final podcast, however when I am recording in the future I’ll make sure to plan in minute detail and brief my participants on questions beforehand.

Leave a comment